Professors Takao Nanba and Shin-ichi Kimura won The Prize for Science and Technology in Research Category, the Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology.

Professor Takao NANBA of Kobe University and Associate Professor Shin-ichi KIMURA of UVSOR were awarded The Prize for Science and Technology in Research Category, the Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology. The reasons of the prize are the development of the highly brilliant infrared synchrotron radiation including the realization of the world's first infrared beamline at UVSOR and applications to materials science.



The Young Scientist Award of The Physical Society of Japan Given to Dr. Yasumasa Hikosaka

Dr. Yasumasa HIKOSAKA, Assistant Professor at UVSOR, won the Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan in 2008, for his outstanding scientific achievements on "Multiple photoionization studies of atoms and molecules utilizing a multi-electron coincidence method". Inner-shell photoionization of atoms and molecules produces a variety of multiply-charged ions that is energetically allowed. Coincidence observation of emitted electrons enables one to gain clear identification of the multiple photoionization process. Thanks to the successful results recently obtained by Dr. HIKOSAKA and his co-workers by introducing a magnetic bottle electron spectrometer, our knowledge on the mechanisms of the multiple photoionization has considerably deepened. Congratulations!

