2012 Annual Meeting Award of the Particle Accelerator Society of Japan Given to Mr. Yohei Hida, Mr. Takahiro Niwa and Dr. Yoshitaka Taira

Mr. Yohei Hida, Mr. Takahiro Niwa received the 2012 Annual Meeting Award of the Particle Accelerator Society of Japan for their poster presentations, and Dr. Yoshitaka Taira for his oral presentation. All these three were from Nagoya University and worked in the accelerator group of UVSOR as research assistants. Their presentations were based on the research works at UVSOR. Mr. Hida presented the successful commissioning of the pulsed sextupole magnet for the beam injection. Mr. Niwa presented the successful development of a pulse width measurement system for the polarized electron gun. Dr. Taira presented results from the application of the ultra-short gamma-ray pulses based on Laser-Compton scattering. Congratulations!

Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan Given to Dr. Yoshitaka Taira

Dr. Yoshitaka Taira received the Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan, for his PhD work at UVSOR, Generation and Application of Ultra-short Gamma-ray Pulses based on 90 degree Laser-Compton Scattering. He was from Nagoya University and worked in the accelerator group of UVSOR for three years. After finishing his PhD work, he started working in The National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST). Congratulations, Dr. Taira!

